Interview with Stealing Axion

Black Hole Paradise

Five-piece Stealing Axion made their first steps into the musical world when they formed in 2009 and crafted a self-released debut EP by the start of 2010. It gained them praise in all corners of the internet; from nit-picking ‘djenty’ forums to technical guitar-loving sites. They must have been doing something right, because by the end of 2011, the progressive metallers were signing to Century Media/InsideOut. Now, after acquiring the production and mastering skills of TesseracT’s Acle Kahney, the Pacific, North West act have a debut full-length on the way and a UK tour to boot. SoundShock caught up with guitarist and vocalist Dan Forbrich to find out more on the budding band.


View original post 1,085 more words

Ancient Bards

Ancient Bards are an Italian symphonic metal band founded in 2007 by keyboard player Daniele Mazza, whose intent was to create a metal band with epic and symphonic sounds.  The sextet imediately sarted working on the demo ep “Trailer” containing four excerpts of the ‘Black Crystal Sword Saga’ conceived by Daniele that is influenced from fantasy nordic tales and Japanese stories like Final Fantasy.

In May 2008 Trailer was finished and was reviewed by many italian webzines and magazines.
BRC  agency (Bologna Rock City) brought them on the stages in Italy supporting Turisas, Over The Rainbow, Almah, White Skull.
Summer 2009 the band recorded the full-length album and they signed with Limb Music (Rhapsody, Luca Turilli, Pagan’s Mind, Eldritch …).

Trailer of the Black Crystal Sword Saga (Demo) 2008
The Alliance of the Kings 2010
Soulless Child 2011cover art

1. Struggle For Life
2. To The Master Of Darkness
3. Gates Of Noland
4. Broken Illusion
5. All That Is True
6. Valiant Ride
7. Dinanzi Al Flagello
8. Soulless Child
9. Through My Veins
10. Hope Dies Last

Federico Gatti – Drums
Fabio Balducci – Guitars
Sara Squadrani – Lead Vocals
Martino Garattoni – Bass
Claudio Pietronik – Guitars
Daniele Mazza – Keyboards and orchestration


Prog metal from Italy, founded in 1998 and disbanded in 2010. The band released an EP and two concept albums. Underground Symphony Records were immediately willing to pay for the recording of the debut album “Wetwired”, and the band recorded it summer of 2001 in record time, but the release was postponed and finally the rights were sold to Limb Music and the album was released 2004.

They played a lot of shows in Italy, among others as opener for Eldritch.

Altered Feelings (Demo, 1998)
Wetwired (2004)
Evol (2008)evol artwork

  1. Falling into Ataraxia
  2. Numb
  3. A Sudden Reawakening
  4. Fragile Hopes
  5. Soul Forgery
    • Tabula Rasa
    • Illusion for a New Mind
    • Failure In Reinventing Myself
  6. And then Nothing Remains…
  7. He Devoured My Dreams
  8. The Reap
  9. The Masterplan
  10. Nemesis’ End
  11. Away
Tiziano Romano – git
Alessandro Bracaloni – drums
Lisa Oliviero – bass
Valerio Voliani – vox, replaced by Titta Tani
Davide Alberti – git, replaced by Francesco Caprina
Andrea Baroni – keys


Harmony is a Swedish Christian power metal band. It was founded back in 2002 by Markus Sigfridsson and Tobias Enbert. They contacted the other band members, most of who went on to play together as Darkwater later on. Harmony released their debut album Dreaming Awake in 2003. They became known for their highly melodic vocals, progressive guitar riffs, and neo-classical guitar solos. A few gigs followed, but all the band members were very busy doing other projects as well. I don’t think they are active anymore.

Dreaming Awake (2003)
End Of My Road (EP) (2008)
Chapter II: Aftermath (2008)cover art

Track listing

Don’t Turn Away
Silently We Fade
Inner Peace
I Run
Hollow Faces
End of My Road

Line up:
Markus Sigfridsson – Guitars (Darkwater, 7 Days)
Tobias Enbert – Drums (Darkwater)
Henrik Båth – Vocals
Andreas Olsson – Bass (Narnia, Divinefire, Stormwind, Rob Rock)
Magnus Holmberg – Keyboard (Darkwater)

Thought Chamber

Thought Chamber is an American progressive metal supergroup formed in 2006. The band was formed by guitarist Michael Harris and vocalist Ted Leonard of Spock’s Beard. The bands first full-length album, Angular Perceptions was released in 2007
Thought Chamber Cover Art
Sacred Treasure
A Legend’s Avalon
Balance Of One
Mr Qwinkle’s Therapy
Transmigration Of Souls
God Of Oblique
Silent Shore
Accidently On Purpose
A Mind Beyond
Thought Chamber is currently working on their second full-length opus, a concept album entitled “Psykerion”, which is due for a 2013 release, and which will feature founding members, guitarist Michael Harris and vocalist Ted Leonard, along with new drummer Mike Haid, bassist Jeff Plant, and keyboardist Bill Jenkins.

Ted Leonard – Vocals (Spock’s Beard, Enchant)
Michael Harris – Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals (Darkology, Arch Rival and Vitalij Kuprij)
Mike Haid – Drums (Michael Harris, David T. Chastain, Joe Stump)
Jeff Plant – Bass (Jimi Tunnell’s Trilateral Commission)
Bill Jenkins – Keyboards (Enchant)

Past Members
Derek Blakley – Bass (of Haji’s Kitchen and Michael Harris)
Rob Stankiewicz – Drums (of Haji’s Kitchen and Michael Harris)
Bobby Williamson – Keyboards (of Eumeria and Outworld)

Magic Kingdom

Magic Kingdom is a Neo-classical power metal or ´Symphonic Power Speed Metal` band from Belgium. It was formed in 1998 and is the main project of guitar player Dushan Petrossi. When Dushan started MAGIC KINGDOM he had a musical vision he wanted to pursue. Petrossi’s musical roots go back to Malmsteen or old Symphony X as well as Bach, and Händel. The combination of various eras has been the band’s objective from the start. Petrossi tried to create catchy melodies and intoxicating compositions together with heavy and agressive lines, very virtuoso, very fast.  The line-up of MAGIC KINGDOM was relatively constant for rather a long time, but the band didn’t have live performances.

Olaf Hayer- Lead Vocals (Dionysus, Luca Turilli, Symphonity)
Dushan Petrossi – Guitars
Vassili Moltchanov – Bass
Philippe Giordana – Keyboards (mastermind of Fairyland)
Roma Siedletski(harsh vox)

The Arrival (1999)
Metallic Tragedy (2004)cover art
Symphony of War (2010)

Symphony Of War Limited edition.

Disc 1
01.Symphony Of War 5:28
02.We Rise 5:37
03.Million Sinners World 6:05
04. Evil Magician 8:14
05. In The Name Of Heathen Gods 3:47
06. Monte Cristo 3:50
07.I’m A Lionheart 5:05
08. Sleeping Beauty (Bonus Track) 5:36
09. No Mercy For The Enemy (Bonus Track) 5:38
10.Unholy Abyss 4:15

Disc 2
Metallic Tragedy – Chapter 2: The Holy Pentalogy 29:08
I. Through The Sea Of Ice / Quest For The Holy Light (0:00 – 5:24)
II. Before The Apocalypse / War Of The Black Angels (5:24 – 16:27)
III. At The Gates Of The Last Mystic Dragon Land (16:27 – 19:27)
IV. Resurrection Of The Wizard / With The Gods Of Egypt On Our Side (19:27 – 22:28)
V. Tournament Of Hell (22:28 – 29:08)