Beyond The Bridge

Beyond the Bridge are a German prog band formed 2005 by Peter Degenfeld-Schonburg for a project he had entitled “The Old Man and the Spirit”. For the next five years together with keyboarder Christopher Tarnow he completed the songs and the story of this slowly evolving concept album. Some of the members of the band had played in a school band together earlier.

The studio recordings for “The Old Man and the Spirit” started in 2008 at Gatestudio (owner Sascha Paeth produced Kamelot and Epica amongst others),  the album was completed only in 2011, and released on Frontiers Records in January 2012.

Update: In September 2012 the band played ProgPower USA. Only a few days later Simon Oberender passed away, only 26 years old. Though they were stunned and deeply hit by this, the band announced about a month later they wanted to continue and start working on their second album in memoriam of Simon.

The Old Man and the Spirit (2012)


1. The Call (6:34)
2. The Apparition (8:04)
3. Triumph Of Irreality (6:11)
4. The Spring Of It All (1:48)
5. World Of Wonders (5:03)
6. The Primal Demand (2:07)
7. Doorway To Salvation (7:54)
8. The Struggle (5:23)
9. The Difference Is Human (7:56)
10. Where The Earth And Sky Meet (6:57)
11. All A Man Can Do (9:33)

Japan Bonus-Track:
12. All A Man Can Do (Orchestral Version)


Herbie Langhans – Vocals
Dilenya Mar – Vocals
Peter Degenfeld-Schonburg – Guitar
Christopher Tarnow – Keyboards
Dominik Stotzem – Bass
Fabian Maier – Drums
Simon Oberender – Keyboards/Guitar