Royal Hunt – Devil’s Dozen due out in Sept

And the pre orders are still open – until 21st of August

vinyl bundle Royal Hunt pledge campaign The super vinyl bundle

Royal Hunt on Pledgemusic

If you are a super (rich) fan, you can even get your own private house concert for 10k bucks .. Yeah!


Royal Hunt – A Life to Die For CD prelistening party!

Soundfiles of the upcoming Royal Hunt album ‘A Life To Die For’ are available for streaming here: Royal Hunt – A Life to Die For CD

Sounds good to me! Have fun guys

New Royal Hunt album seems to be coming soon

Danish/American hard rockers ROYAL HUNT have completed all songwriting for their new album and rehearsals/pre-production will begin in a couple of weeks. The material has been described as a continuation of the band’s last CD, “Show Me How To Live”, but with new elements in in both the songwriting and production departments.

In order to upgrade its trademark sound, ROYAL HUNT is planning to employ a large number of classical/orchestra players in the studio as well as a large choir.

ROYAL HUNT’s new album is expected to be released in November this year through Marquee/Avalon (Japan and Southeast Asia) and Frontiers (Europe and North America).

Frontiers Records released ROYAL HUNT’s new box set, “20th Anniversary – Special Edition”, on November 23, 2012 in Europe and January 21, 2013 in North America.


Pagan’s Mind

Pagan’s Mind is a Norwegian prog / power metal band formed in 2000
They have released five studio albums, a live DVD + CD and an overhauled rerelease of their first album

I haven’t yet had the time to check out their latest release Heavenly Ecstasy (2011)
God’s Equation (2005) is an incredibly great and powerful creation of powerful tunes wit decided prog elements I like very much.

image stolen from their home page:

Nils K. Rue – vocals
Stian Kristoffersen – drums
Steinar Krokmo – bass
Ronny Tegner – keys
Jørn Viggo Lofstad – guitars

In 2011 they played at the Graspop Festival and a few support gigs with Symphony X, in 2012 they played in Greece with Royal Hunt

Check out my playlist on youtube for samples from all their releases:

Holy Force

I’m not sure if Holy Force is a band or just a temporary project, not much info to be found. It is good that Ango Chen has an outlet in making music, talking seems not to be his strongest side, as you can find out if you read his interview with
Anyway, Mike Boals who was with Danish powermetalers Royal Hunt for a while as well as with Yngwie Malmsteen, Ango Chen, guitarist and moving spirit of the band, Mike LePond of Symphony X and Rhino of Manowar released this selftitled album together in 2011. Some reviews were awesome calling it a Supergroup, some spoke very openly of plagiarism.

I found it enjoyable, really nothing outstanding, only one track that stuck in my mind at all, but it’s not bad either. Simply melodic, solid, well produced (at least most of it. The mastering is somewhat strange, the short instrumental tracks in between the regular songs sound as if they were twice as loud) Check out the playlist at the bottom

1. Holy Force
2. Flying
3. Breathe
4. Seasons
5. A Country Good or Bad
6. Power of Life
7. Sky Etude
8. We Are The Warriors
9. Moonlight Fantasy
10. The Wings of Forever
11. Chasing The Dream
12. Emperor
13. Waiting
14. See You In The Future

Mike Boals – Vocals
Ango Chen – Guitars
Mike LePond – Bass
Kenny “Rhino” Earl – Drums


Royal Hunt

4 piece power/prog metal band from Denmark

since 1992 they have released an album every two years on the average, and they must have undergone some funny phases, as there are some 80ies style easy-listening-rock songs up on youtube that would work well on Baywatch soundtrack anytime

their latest release Show Me How To Live (2011) is on my wishlist and I’m totally looking forward to listening to it. I think it is killer, very hard and melodic power metal with awesome vocals (DC Cooper), great composition and production.

I’ll do another post on their 2005 album Paper Blood later on.

To prelisten you must look them up on iTunes, CD Baby or amazon, as all songs off the new album are taken down by request of the band or label immediately

  1. One More Day
  2. Another Man Down
  3. An Empty Shell
  4. Hard Rain`s Coming
  5. Half Past Loneliness
  6. Show Me How To Live
  7. Angels Gone