Silent Lapse

Quite recently I loaded my car stereo with a USB drive containing loads of music I had downloaded or that had been submitted to me, most of it not tagged properly, so half the time I wasn’t sure what I was listening to. But these guys have created some music that sticks. Melodies kept popping into my head, riffs and licks took my fancy. In the end I went out and started looking for the name of the band – voila, Silent Lapse. Melodies, instruments, ┬ávocals, production all work together to make this an outstanding piece of music.

Silent Lapse is a melodic progressive metal band from USA. It was formed in 2007 just to play a one-off festival gig dubbed “Arkfest” in their home town of Westphalia, Michigan. They played Arkfest in August of 2007 performing covers, ranging from Breaking Benjamin to Dream Theater and Joe Satriani.

After the success of Arkfest, the four decided they would continue on to pursue creating an album based on the original music two of them had been working on for two years prior.

Their first album “Birthright” was completed within two years of the full band writing and rehearsing together. Mixing and mastering was done by Jens Bogren (of Opeth and Katatonia fame). The album was met with widespread praise, and the band played many shows supporting it. The band chose to go the Radiohead way and gave (and still are giving) away the album download for free, selling physical copies from 2,63$ up thus creating quite a number of enthusiastic fans. Go on, download the album now!

In 2011 a music video for “The Wake” from their debut album was released.
In 2012 the band have been touring and also started recording their second album.

Birthright is a concept album, you can download the lyrics from the band’s home page.Silent Lapse Birthright cover art


  1. A New Melody
  2. Beyond The Gardens
  3. Reach
  4. Final Error
  5. The Wake
  6. Solitude
  7. Deliberation
  8. Seed Of Hope
  9. Birthright

Line Up:

Mitchell Feldpausch – Guitar
Taylor Feldpausch – Drums
Scott Martin – Vocals/Keys
Matt Schrauben – Bass
Wyatt Aldrich – Guitar