DGM – Momentum 2013

Momentum is my very first contact with the Italian progressive metallers DGM, shame on me…

For those who have never met them before like me, DGM is a band of long standing, founded in 1994, released eight studio albums, ¬†one double live CD and one self produced demo EP. Listening to their latest I think they take a lot of their musical inspiration from Symphony X (yeah ūüôā ), indeed, there is one track featuring Russel Allen on vocals. On their webpage they state that the album ‘represents the full stylistic maturity of a band’ and I’d totally agree, though listening through earlier releases quickly I’d say their style is very consistent throughout.

The instrumentals, especially the guitars are very reminiscent of Symphony X, whereas the vocals could fit equally well in 80ies Van Halen or even Toto, they are very hard rock, very melodic with catchy lines.

A bit back histroy of the band that should be more widely known imo

Their second release Wings of Time was a favourite of many Italian metal magazines and earned them lots of fame in Japan too, getting them an exclusive interview on the Japanese BURN! mag.

Different Shapes, which was released in 2007 was awarded top album by both Rock Hard and Metal Hammer.

DGM played twice at the Gods of MetalFestival together with Heaven&Hell, Dream Theater, Symphony X, Dark Tranquility among others, Lagoa Burning Festival (2007), Prog-Power Europe (2007 and 2013)¬†and supported Symphony X on their European tour, sharing the stage with Pagan’s Mind to.

Time to dive into the back catalougue! cover art

1994 –¬†Random Access Zone¬†(mini CD)
1997 –¬†Change Direction
1999 –¬†Wings of Time
2001 –¬†Dreamland
2003 –¬†Hidden Place
2004 –¬†Misplaced
2007 –¬†Different Shapes
2009 –¬†Frame
2010 –¬†Synthesis¬†(DVD + CD)

2013 –¬†Momentum


1. Reason (feat. Russell Allen)
2. Trust
3. Universe
4. Numb
5. Pages
6. Repay
7. Chaos (feat. Viggo Lofstad)
8. Remembrance
9. Overload
10. Void
11. Blame

Current Line-Up

Mark Basile – Vocals
Simone Mularoni – Guitars
Andrea Arcangeli – Bass
Emanuele Casali – Keyboards
Fabio Costantino – Drums




Cloudscape¬†(known as “Doctor Weird” until 2001) is a¬†progressive metal¬†band from¬†Helsingborg,¬†Sweden. Played at¬†ProgPower Europe¬†in 2005 and 2007,¬†Sweden Rock Festival¬†in 2006, Prog Metal Fest in Oslo¬†and¬†Bloodstock Open Air¬†in 2008. So far they have released 4 full length albums.
Cloudscape arose from a locally known band called “Doctor Weird” after their appearance at the¬†Sweden Rock Festival¬†in 2000. During 2003, several demo reviews were published in different magazines and webzines, giving them increasing recognition in the underground metal scene. The¬†debut 12-track self-titled¬†album was ¬†released in late 2004 (Asia) and early 2005 (Europe). After releasing their second album they played¬†various shows in the United States. The song “Will We Remain” features guest vocals from¬†Anette Olzon¬†(then vocalist of “Alyson Avenue”).
Cloudscape (2004)
Crimson Skies (2006)cover artGlobal Drama (2008)
New Era (2012)
1.Silver Ending
2.Share Your Energy
3.Kingdom of Sand
4.Pull the Brake
5.Seen It All Before
6.Your Desire
7.Voyager 9
9.Before Your Eyes
10.Violet Eye
11.Into the Unknown

Guest appearance Peter Wildoer (Darkane, James LaBrie) vocals/growls


Mike Andersson –¬†Vocals
Stefan Rosqvist¬†–¬†Guitar
Patrik Sv√§rd –¬†Guitar
H√•kan Nyander –¬†Bass guitar
Fredrik Joakimsson –¬†Drums


Myrath ‚Äď Tales of the Sands Review

Myrath ‚Äď Tales of the Sands Review

via Myglobalmind Webzine

New Music Reviews, Heavy Metal, Hard Rock, Progressive Rock Metal, Alternative Rock Metal, Indie, Music Album CD Reviewsmusic, interview, exclusive, review, CD, thrash, prog, gothic, melodic, black, death, power, classic, progressive, demo, links, industry contacts, staff, webzine, glam, hard rock, metal, concerts, insider, news, articles, information



Progressive metal band from Tunisia
Started in 2001 and released three long players, the first in 2007, the latest in 2011
Their music has rather interesting elements of Oriental and Arabian music that are incorporated well into the progressive vein that make their music stand out from most other bands

I believe the band members were under or around twenty years old at the time of the first release!

They played Progpower EU festival twice

Tales of the sands

01. Under siege
02. Braving the seas
03. Merciless Times
04. Tales of the sands
05. Sour Sigh
06. Dawn within
07. Wide shut
08. Requiem for a goodbye
09. Beyond the stars
10. Time to grow
Bonus tracks
Apostrophe for a legend
Fate in motion


Seventh Wonder

Seventh Wonder are from Sweden and have been together since 2000, singer Tommy Karevik joined the band in 2005. Yes, it is that same Tommy Karevik that has been chosen to replace Roy Khan in Kamelot. So now you know what I mean when I say that Seventh Wonder has the most outstanding vocals I have ever heard in a band like this. So powerful and yet totally melodious, almost too beautiful for a powerprogmetal band … Seventh Wonder have it all, power-shredding, 30 minute songs in the approved progressive fashion, melodious vocal lines, strange riffs and rhythmic parts.
I was hooked on that band from the very first minute, and I really wonder why they are not better known.
Become (2005, recorded with former vocalist Andi)
Waiting In The Wings (2006)
Mercy Falls (2008)


The Great Escape (2010)

01. Wiseman
02. Alley Cat
03. The Angelmaker
04. King of Whitewater
05. Long Way Home
06. Move on Through
07. The Great Escape

They played with Queensryche, Testament, Sxmphony X, and at progpower USA and Europe.

Tommy Karevik ‚Äď Vocals
Andreas Blomqvist ‚Äď Bass
Johan Liefvendahl ‚Äď Guitar
Andreas S√∂derin ‚Äď Keyboards
Stefan Norgren – Drums